Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email

How many Continets are there in the world??

Most common answer is: 7 continents. Different countries have different traditional answers to this question, because there's no consensus as to how to define a continent. A continent is one of several large landmasses. Generally identified by convention rather than any strict criteria, up to seven regions are commonly regarded as continents. Ordered from largest in area to smallest, these seven regions are: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Variations with fewer continents merge some of these, for example some systems include Eurasia or America as single continents. Checkout a few models below:

seven continents

Seven Continents Model

The most common across the world is the seven-continent model. It's usually taught in most English-speaking countries including the United States, Australia, UK, and also in China, India, Pakistan, the Philippines, and parts of Western Europe.

The seven continents are: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, South America, Antarctica and Australia.

six continents

Six Continents Model: EURASIA

The six-continent model combines Europe and Asia as one continent: Eurasia. It is mostly used in Russia, Eastern Europe, and Japan.

The six continents are: Africa, EURASIA, North America, South America, Antarctica, and Australia.

six america continents

Six Continents Model: AMERICA

The six-continent model combines the North and South America as one America continent. This model is often used in Latin America, Greece, and countries that speak Romance languages.

The six continents are: Africa, Asia, Europe AMERICA, Antarctica, and Australia.

five continents

Five Continents Model: Olympic Rings

The Olympic flag's five rings represent the five inhabited continents of the combined-America model. The five rings supposed to represent the five continents of the world, excluding Antarctica.

The five Olympic continents are: Africa, America, Asia, Australia, and Europe.

five eurasia continents

Five Continents Model: EURASIA + the Americas

In some parts of the world, students learn that there are just five continents: Eurasia, America, Australia, Africa, and Antarctica.

four continents

Four Continents Model

In the 16th century, the Europeans and explorers divided the world into four continents: Africa, America, Asia and Europe. Each of the four continents was seen to represent its quadrant of the world-Europe in the north, Asia in the east, Africa in the south, and America in the west. This division fit the Renaissance sensibilities of the time, which also divided the world into four seasons, four classical elements (fire, air, earth and water), four cardinal directions (north, east, west, south), four classical virtues, etc.


Quick Profile