Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email

Eastern Caribbean Dollar

Currency Name:Eastern Caribbean dollar
Central Bank:Eastern Caribbean Central Bank
Number of Country & Territory Using Eastern Caribbean Dollar:8 Countries.
Country & Territory Officially Using Eastern Caribbean Dollar:Anguilla. Antigua and Barbuda. Dominica. Grenada. Montserrat. Saint Kitts and Nevis. Saint Lucia. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
Banknotes:Banknotes: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 dollars.
Coins: 5, 10, 25 cents, and 1 dollar.

The Eastern Caribbean dollar (symbol: $; code: XCD) is the currency of all seven full members and one associate member of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). The successor to the British West Indies dollar, it has existed since 1965, and it is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $ or, alternatively, EC$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. The EC$ is subdivided into 100 cents. It has been pegged to the United States dollar since 7 July 1976, at the exchange rate of US$1 = EC$2.70.