Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email

Hong Kong Dollar

Currency Name:Hong Kong dollar
Central Bank:Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Number of Country & Territory Using Hong Kong Dollar:1 Countries.
Country & Territory Officially Using Hong Kong Dollar:Hong Kong.
Banknotes:Banknotes: HK$10, HK$20, HK$50, HK$100, HK$500, (rarely used: HK$1,000)
Coins: 10¢, 20¢, 50¢, HK$1, HK$2, HK$5, (rarely used: HK$10 (still minted))

The Hong Kong dollar (sign: HK$ or "元"; code: HKD) is the official currency of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. It is subdivided into 100 cents or 1000 mils. The Hong Kong Monetary Authority is the monetary authority of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong dollar.

Under the license from the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, three commercial banks are licensed to issue their own banknotes for general circulation in Hong Kong. The three commercial banks, HSBC, Bank of China and Standard Chartered issue their own designs of banknotes in denominations of HK$20, HK$50, HK$100, HK$500 and HK$1000, with all designs being similar to one another in the same denomination of banknote. However, the HK$10 banknote and all coins are issued by the Government of Hong Kong.

Apart from its use in Hong Kong, the Hong Kong dollar is also used in neighbouring Macau, where the Hong Kong dollar circulates alongside the Macanese pataca.