Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email

New Zealand Dollar

Currency Name:New Zealand dollar
Central Bank:n/a
Number of Country & Territory Using New Zealand Dollar:5 Countries.
Country & Territory Officially Using New Zealand Dollar:Cook Islands. New Zealand. Niue. Pitcairn. Tokelau.
Banknotes:Banknotes: $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, (rarely used/no longer in use: $1, $2)
Coins: 10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2.

The New Zealand dollar (sign: $; code: NZD, also abbreviated NZ$) is the official currency and legal tender of New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Niue, the Ross Dependency, Tokelau, and a British territory, the Pitcairn Islands. Within New Zealand, it is almost always abbreviated with the dollar sign ($), with "NZ$" sometimes used to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. In the context of currency trading, it is rarely informally called the "Kiwi" or "Kiwi dollar", since New Zealand is commonly associated with the kiwi and the one-dollar coin depicts the indigenous bird on its reverse.

Introduced in 1967, the dollar is subdivided into 100 cents. Altogether there are ten denominations—five coins and five banknotes—with the smallest being the 10-cent coin. Formerly there were lower denominations, but those were discontinued due to inflation and production costs.