Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email

Norwegian Krone

Currency Name:Norwegian krone
Central Bank:Norges Bank
Number of Country & Territory Using Norwegian Krone:3 Countries.
Country & Territory Officially Using Norwegian Krone:Bouvet Island. Norway. Svalbard and Jan Mayen.
Banknotes:Banknotes: 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 kr.
Coins: 1, 5, 10, 20 kr.

The krone (sign: kr; code: NOK) is the currency of Norway and its dependent territories. It is subdivided into 100 øre, which have existed only electronically since 2012. The name translates into English as crown.The krone was the thirteenth-most-traded currency in the world by value in April 2010, down three positions from 2007.

The krone was introduced in 1875, replacing the Norwegian speciedaler/spesidaler at a rate of 4 kroner = 1 speciedaler. In doing so, Norway joined the Scandinavian Monetary Union, which had been established in 1873. The Union persisted until 1914. After its dissolution, Denmark, Norway, and Sweden all decided to keep the names of their respective and since then separate currencies.