Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email
LINKS: Worlds Flags UN Flags flags terminology

Australia Flag

Flag of Australia
Flag Name(s)Australian National Flag, Southern Cross Flag, Commonwealth Blue Ensign [Flag Of Australia]
Aspect Ratio(1:2)
Color Schemeblue red,white
Color and Design

A Blue Ensign defaced with the Commonwealth Star (also known as the Federation Star) in the lower hoist quarter and the five stars of the Southern Cross in the fly half.

Meaning & SymbolismThe flag has three elements on a blue background: the Union Jack, the Commonwealth Star and the Southern Cross. The Union Jack in the upper left corner represents the history of British settlement. Below the Union Jack is a white Commonwealth, or Federation, star. It has seven points representing the unity of the six states and the territories of the Commonwealth of Australia. The star is also featured on the Commonwealth Coat of Arms. The Southern Cross is shown on the flag in white. It is a constellation of five stars that can only be seen from the southern hemisphere and is a reminder of Australia’s geography.
Description and Brief History

The flag of Australia is based on the British maritime Blue Ensign – a blue field with the United Kingdom flag (Union Jack) in the canton or upper hoist quarter – augmented with a large white seven-pointed star (the Commonwealth Star) and a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars. There are other official flags representing Australia, its people and core functions of government.

The flag's original design (with a six-pointed Commonwealth Star) was chosen in 1901 from entries in a competition held following Federation, and was first flown in Melbourne on 3 September 1901, the date proclaimed as Australian National Flag Day. A slightly different design was approved by King Edward VII in 1903. The current seven-pointed Commonwealth Star version was introduced by a proclamation dated 8 December 1908. The dimensions were formally gazetted in 1934,[5] and in 1954 the flag became recognised by, and legally defined in, the Flags Act 1953, as the "Australian National Flag".


crux, union jack, commonwealth star, southern cross, stars, blue ensign, flag of another country, british ensign, multiple many-pointed stars, stars, one 5-pointed star, five 7-pointed stars, southern cross, crux , constellation, stars, reversed southern cross, union jack, canton, christianity, religion, 3 colors, three colors crux,union jack,commonwealth star,southern cross,stars,blue ensign,flag of another country,british ensign,multiple many-pointed stars,stars,one 5-pointed star,five 7-pointed stars,southern cross,crux ,constellation,stars,reversed southern cross,union jack,canton,christianity,religion,3 colors,three colors