Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email
LINKS: Worlds Flags UN Flags flags terminology

Morocco Flag

Flag of Morocco
Flag Name(s) [Flag Of Morocco]
Aspect Ratio(2:3)
Color Schemered green
Color and Design

A red field with the green pentagram, a five-pointed linear star.

Meaning & SymbolismThe red background on the Moroccan flag represents hardiness, bravery, strength and valour, while the green represents love, joy, wisdom, peace and hope. It also represents the color of Islam and the pentagram represents the seal of Solomon. The five-pointed star also represent the 5 pillars of Islam.
Description and Brief History

The flag of Morocco is a red field with a green emerald pentagram. Red has considerable historic significance in Morocco, proclaiming the descent from royal Alaouite dynasty. This ruling house was associated with the Islamic prophet Muhammad via Fatimah, the wife of Ali, the fourth Muslim Caliph. Red is also the color that was used by the sharifs of Mecca and the imams of Yemen. From the 17th century on, when Morocco was ruled by the Alaouite dynasty, the flags of the country were plain red.

On November 17, 1915, Resident General Hubert Lyautey had Sultan Yusef sign a dhahir that made Morocco's flag red with a green interlaced pentangle star. While Morocco was under French and Spanish control, the red flag with the seal in the center remained in use, but only inland. Its use at sea was prohibited. When independence was restored in 1955, it once again became the national flag.

The oldest flag of Morocco was the flag of the Idrisid dynasty, which had a simple white field with no emblem. It came into use in 780, and it fell out of use in 974. The flag of the Almoravids came into use in 1070 after a period when there was no national flag. It was created by added a calligraphic image to the banner of the Idrisids. The Almohad dynasty took power and changed the nation's flag in 1147. Their flag had the same red field as the modern flag but used a checkered pattern of black and white instead of a pentagram.

The next flag came into use in 1248 and represented the Marinid, Wattasid, and Saadi dynasties. It had a red field with a gold border and a gold pentagram in the center. The Alaouite dynasty replaced it with a solid red flag in 1666, which was used until 1915. The nation of Morocco adopted the modern flag at that time and has used it ever since.


star, pentangle, one five-pointed star in center, five-pointed stars, one star, stars, 2 colors, two colors, islam, religion, solid one color field with symbol or emblem star,pentangle,one five-pointed star in center,five-pointed stars,one star,stars,2 colors,two colors,islam,religion,solid one color field with symbol or emblem