Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email
LINKS: Worlds Flags UN Flags flags terminology

Taiwan Flag

Flag of Taiwan
Flag Name(s)青天、白日、滿地紅 (Qīng Tiān, Bái Rì, Mǎn Dì Hóng ["Blue Sky, White Sun, Red Field"]) [Flag Of Taiwan]
Aspect Ratio(2:3)
Color Schemered blue,white
Color and Design

A red field with a navy blue canton bearing a white sun with 12 triangular rays.

Meaning & SymbolismThe red field represents the blood shed by the revolutionary movement that fought to overthrow the Qing dynasty. Red is commonly used as a symbol of good luck in Chinese culture, which gives the field additional symbolic value. The blue field represents liberty and the sky. The white sun is a symbol of equality and democracy. It has twelve rays in order to represent the twelve months of the year and the twelve shichen into which the day has traditionally been divided in China. The flag as a whole is a complicated symbol of Chinese nationalism and history. It once represented all of China, so it it serves as a symbol of the unified nation. It also represents a clear break from the modern flag of the People's Republic of China, so it also represents separation from the rest of the nation.
Description and Brief History

The flag of Taiwan (also known as the Blue Sky, White Sun, and a Wholly Red Earth), consists of a red field with a blue canton bearing a white disk surrounded by twelve triangles; said symbols symbolize the sun and rays of light emanating from it, respectively. The flag was originally designed by the anti-Qing group, Revive China Society in 1895 with the addition of the red field component in 1906 by Dr. Sun Yat-sen in his speech. This was first used in mainland China as the Navy flag in 1912, and was made the official national flag of the Republic of China (ROC) in 1928 by the Kuomintang (KMT). It was enshrined in the sixth article of the Constitution of the Republic of China when it was promulgated in 1947. The flag is no longer officially used in mainland China, as the People's Republic of China was founded in 1949. As the islands of Taiwan and Penghu were under Japanese rule until 1945, the flag was not in use in two territories, until the ROC took control in 1945. The flag is now mostly used within Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu and other outlying islands, where the ROC relocated in 1949 after its defeat in the Chinese Civil War.

China has not recognized the Taiwan's sovereignty and claims Taiwan and the other Taiwan-controlled areas to be part of China. Authorities in mainland China used their national flag to represent Taiwan instead. The public display of this flag has outlawed for public use in Mainland China except for historical uses inside historical places. Supporters of Taiwanese independence have been known to reject the flag as a statement of opposition against the Kuomintang party.

The first national flag of Taiwan was first used in 1663 during the Kingdom of Tungning, which had a plain white flag with the character 「鄭」 (zhèng) on the red bordered circle. The flag of the Qing dynasty was also used from 1862 until 1895, when the Republic of Formosa was declared. The Formosan flag had a tiger on a plain blue filed with azure clouds below it.

During Japanese rule of Taiwan, the flag of Japan was flown in the island from 1895 to 1945. At the same time, when the government of the Republic of China was established on 1 January 1912, the "Five-Colored Flag" was selected by the provisional Senate as the national flag. The "18-Star Flag" was adopted by the army and the modern flag was adopted as a naval ensign. Sun Yat-sen, however, did not consider the five-colored flag appropriate, reasoning that horizontal order implied a hierarchy or class like that which existed during dynastic times. Following the transfer of Taiwan from Japan to China in 1945, the flag was specified in Article Six of the 1947 Constitution. After the Chinese Civil War in 1949, the government of Chiang Kai-shek relocated the Republic of China (ROC) to the island of Taiwan. On the mainland, the communist forces of Mao Zedong established the People's Republic of China and adopted their own national flag. On 23 October 1954, the National Emblem and National Flag of the Republic of China Act (中華民國國徽國旗法; Zhōnghuá Mínguó guóhuī guóqífǎ) was promulgated by the Legislative Yuan to specify the size, measure, ratio, production, and management of the flag.


white sun, sun, sun rays, sun, 3 colors, three colors, canton white sun,sun,sun rays,sun,3 colors,three colors,canton