Share on FB Twitter Whatsapp linkedIn Tumblr Reddit Pin Print email
LINKS: Worlds Flags UN Flags flags terminology

Tanzania Flag

Flag of Tanzania
Flag Name(s) [Flag Of Tanzania]
Aspect Ratio(2:3)
Color Scheme green,blue,black yellow
Color and Design

A Yellow-edged black diagonal band divided diagonally from the lower hoist-side corner: the upper triangle is green and the lower triangle is blue.

Meaning & SymbolismThe colors and symbols of the flag carry cultural, political, and regional meanings. The green represents the natural vegetation and "rich agricultural resources" of the country. Black symbolizes the Swahili people who are native to Tanzania. The blue epitomizes the Indian Ocean, as well as the nation's numerous lakes and rivers. The thin stripes stand for Tanzania's mineral wealth, derived from the "rich deposits" in the land.
Description and Brief History

The Tanzania's flag consists of a yellow-edged black diagonal band, divided diagonally from the lower hoist-side corner, with a green upper triangle and blue lower triangle. Adopted in 1964 to replace the individual flags of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, it has been the flag of the United Republic of Tanzania since the two states merged that year. The design of the present flag incorporates the elements from the two former flags. It is one of a relatively small number of national flags incorporating a diagonal line, with other examples including the DR Congo, Namibia, Trinidad and Tobago and Brunei.

While Whitney Smith in the Encyclopædia Britannica describe the fimbriations as yellow, other sources – such as The World Factbook and Archaeological Research in Africa – believed that it is actually gold.

The people of Tanzania spent many years as part of European empires. The German Empire maintained control over part of the nation as German East Africa from 1891 to 1919, and during that time the territory used the flag of German East Africa. A Teutonic Cross dominated that flag, and it also had a red square containing a depiction of the Southern Cross in the canton. A British colonial flag replaced it in 1919 within the boundaries of Tanganyika. The flag had a solid red field with the Union Jack in the canton and the seal of Tanganyika in the fly, which was a giraffe's head on a white disc. The Sultanate of Zanzibar used a solid red field as its flag when it was a British protectorate from 1896 to 1963 rather than a more traditional colonial flag.

The nations gained flags of their own when they left the British Empire. Zanzibar added an emblem to its old flag in 1963 that depicted two cloves on a green disc, which was replaced by a tricolor of blue, green, and black in 1964. Tanganyika adopted a new flag in 1961, which featured five bands of green, yellow, and black. The countries and their flags merged in 1964 to create the modern nation of Tanzania and its current flag.


three fimbriated diagonal stripes, diagonal, five unequal horizontal stripes in three colors, five horizontal stripes, unequal horizontal stripes, horizontal stripes, horizontal bands, horizontal, 4 colors, four colors three fimbriated diagonal stripes,diagonal,five unequal horizontal stripes in three colors,five horizontal stripes,unequal horizontal stripes,horizontal stripes,horizontal bands,horizontal,4 colors,four colors